California State Senator Ling Ling Chang recognizes Special Olympics Southern California

From left to right: Bill Shumard, President/CEO of Special Olympics Southern California; Senator Chang; David Solo, President/CEO of Special Olympics Northern California and Nevada. Courtesy photo.

Senator Ling Ling Chang (R-Diamond Bar) honored Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) as the 2019 Nonprofit of the Year for California’s 29th Senate District. This recognition is part of a larger celebration at the Fourth Annual California Nonprofits Day.

“I’m proud to recognize Special Olympics Southern California for their invaluable contributions to our community,” said Senator Chang. “Their dedication to enriching the lives of people with intellectual disabilities through sports, health, and leadership programs is truly remarkable. I can’t thank them enough, and look forward to cheering on their athletes at SOSC Summer Games this weekend.”

SOSC provides year-round sports training and athletic competition for children and adults with intellectual disabilities. With the help of 19,900 volunteers, SOSC has enriched the lives of nearly 38,000 athletes, giving them opportunities to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and participate in sharing skills and friendship.

“Special Olympics Southern California is honored to receive the Non-Profit of the Year Award from the State of California’s 29th Senate District,” said Bill Shumard, President & CEO of Special Olympics Southern California. “It is especially meaningful to receive this award in the year that we are celebrating our 50th anniversary as a movement. Our goal is to change and enhance the lives of the nearly 38,000 athletes we serve through the power of sports.”

CalNonprofits is a statewide organization alliance of over 10,000 organizations that bring California’s nonprofit community together.

The article above was released by California State Senator Ling Ling Change. For more information about Orange County elected officials, visit Orange County Breeze’s page on Orange County elected officials.