featured graphic for Woman's Club of Cypress

Local students receive scholarships

During Scholarship Awards Night at Cypress High School, five students were presented with scholarships and two with Regional Occupational Program awards from the Woman’s Club of Cypress.

Scholarships were presented to Joshua Suh, Justin Nam, Garrett Potter, and Benjamin James. ROP recipients included: Adla Arafat, Anusha Basak, Anthony Fadonougbo, and Natalie LaBeet. The Michael David Adams Scholarship recipients were Kylei Brookhyser and Bryan Lee.

Presenting the awards from the club were Scholarship Chairman, Sue Fardette and President, Colleen Janssen. They were joined by Mayor Stacy Berry, also a member of the Woman’s Club of Cypress.

Scholarships were presented at Oxford Academy to Varsha Sandadi and Francesca Alcala. Page Betar Memorial Nursing Program scholarships at Cypress College were awarded to Lydia Eng and Hannah Galang The Darlie Wasicak Performing Arts Scholarship was presented to Javan Campanello.

Thousands of dollars in scholarships and awards are presented each year from monies raised at club fundraisers and bequests from deceased members. “Our newly-installed President, Carole Shaw, has wonderful plans to raise money over the next twelve months to fund scholarships for the coming year,” said Janssen. “Club members are ready to get to work.”

The Woman’s Club of Cypress welcomes new members and encourages those interested in raising money for scholarships and donations to non-profit organizations, to contact the club by email at [email protected]

This article was released by the Woman’s Club of Cypress.

Cypress High Scholarships were awarded (left to right) to: Joshua Suh, Justin Nam, Garrett Potter, Benjamin James, Adla Arafat, Anthony Fadonougbo, Natalie LaBeet. Presenting the awards were Scholarship Chairman Sue Fardette, President Colleen Janssen, and Mayor Stacy Berry. Courtesy photo.