melissa fox

Fox garners powerful endorsement from CA Legislative Women’s Caucus

Reflecting her wide-ranging support from women in the race for California’s 68th Assembly District, Irvine Councilmember Melissa Fox earned a critical endorsement from the California Democratic Legislative Women’s Caucus.

In a statement released following the announced endorsement, California Democratic Legislative Women’s Caucus’ Chair Senator Connie Leyva remarked:

“As a local City Councilmember, attorney, and community advocate, Melissa Fox has been a tireless advocate for women, the right to choose, and gender equity. She is dedicated to closing the gender pay gap, holding sexual abusers and harassers accountable, and providing quality, affordable reproductive healthcare for all. The California Democratic Legislative Women’s Caucus is thrilled to support a candidate who will endlessly work to advance equality and elevate women in the California State Legislature.”

Recently, Fox’s campaign announced that she had outraised her opponent, Steven Choi, more than 2:1, with Fox’s campaign bringing in a significant $174,515, while Choi only raised $77,785.

Since officially launching her campaign, Melissa Fox has announced an impressive array of endorsements. To date, Melissa has earned the following endorsements:


  • International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 441
  • United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 324
  • Laborers Local 652
  • Laborers Local 1309
  • International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Local 12
  • Women In Leadership (WIL)
  • International Union of Painters and Allied Trades District Council 36
  • California Legislative Women’s Caucus
  • Fund Her
  • Women’s Political Committee (WPC)
  • California Federation of Teachers (CFT)
  • Communications Workers of America (CWA) Local 9510
  • Consumer Attorneys of California (CAOC)

State Elected Leaders:

  • California Lieutenant Governor Eleni Kounalakis
  • California State Treasurer Fiona Ma
  • California State Controller Betty Yee 
  • California State Insurance Commissioner Emeritus Dave Jones
  • State Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva
  • State Assemblymember Lorena Gonalzez-Fletcher
  • State Senator Jim Beall
  • State Senator, Chair of California Legislative Women’s Caucus,* and past president of California Labor Federation,* Connie Leyva
  • Former State Senator Josh Newman

Local Elected and Community Leaders:

  • California Democratic Party LGBT Caucus* Chair Denise Penn
  • Orange County Board of Education Member and former Tustin Councilmember Beckie Gomez
  • Tustin City Councilmember Letitia Clark
  • Anaheim City Councilmember Jordan Brandman
  • Fullerton City Councilmember Ahmad Zahra
  • Ocean View School District, Board of Trustees Gina Clayton-Tarvin
  • Brea Olinda Unified School District Board Member Keri Kropke
  • Costa Mesa Mayor Katrina Foley
  • Costa Mesa City Councilmember Manuel Chavez
  • Costa Mesa City Councilmember Arlis Reynolds
  • Costa Mesa City Councilmember John Stephens
  • Garden Grove City Councilmember Thu-Ha Nguyen
  • Huntington Beach City Councilmember Joe Shaw (Ret.)
  • Laguna Beach Community Leader Mary Carter
  • California Democratic Party Region 18 Director Florice Hoffman*
  • Orange County Democratic Party Vice Chair Jeff LeTourneau*
  • Orange Unified School District Trustee Kris Erickson
  • Aliso Viejo Mayor Ross Chun
  • Aliso Viejo City Councilmember Tiffany Ackley
  • Aliso Viejo City Councilmember Ross Chun
  • Fullerton City Councilmember Jesus Silva
  • Former Santa Ana City Councilmember, former chair of SCAG and President of NALEO Michele Martinez
  • Irvine Community Service Commission Chair Lauren Johnson Norris
  • Irvine Commissioner Roger Sievers
  • Irvine Planning Commission Chair Dustin Nirchle
  • Irvine Transportation Commissioner Ken Montgomery
  • Coast Community College Trustee Dr. Lorraine Prinsky
  • Cost Mesa City Councilmember Andrea Marr
  • Capistrano School Board Member (Ret.) Dr. Gary Pritchard
  • Artesia City Councilmember Ali Taj
  • La Habra Heights Mayor (Ret.) Kyle Miller
  • West Hollywood City Councilmember Lindsey Horvath
  • Malibu City Mayor (Ret.) Lou LaMont
  • Community leader and former Congressional candidate Phil Janowicz
  • Newport Beach activist and Women in Leadership member Pam Gilmour
  • Clean energy advocate and organizer Robin Ganahl

A career-long attorney, Melissa Fox has served on the Irvine Council since 2016 after winning an at-large, citywide election. She also serves as a Director of the Orange County Fire Authority and previously served as Vice Chair of the Orange County Great Park. Melissa has been recognized for her dedication to fiscal responsibility by the Orange County Auditor-Controller with the “Orange County Taxpayer Watchdog Award.” Fox has also been honored for her dedication to children and families by earning the “Hero of Children Award” from the Child Abuse Protection Network.

Councilwoman Fox is the Founder and Senior Attorney at The Fox Firm, a civil law firm specializing in business law and public affairs.  In addition, she serves as Southern Vice Chair of the Democratic Municipal Officials, California.

Her service on local and regional boards and agencies includes Community Energy Partnership, Library Advisory Board of Orange County Library System, Chair of the Green Ribbon Environmental Committee, and Chair of the Irvine Community Land Trust for Affordable Housing.

In 2016, Hillary Clinton beat Donald Trump in the 68th Assembly District by nearly 5-points.

For more information, please visit

This article was released by Melissa Fox for State Assembly 2020.

Editor’s Note: For more information on Orange County’s Elected Officials, visit our elected officials page!