featured graphic for Cypress School District news, logo courtesy of CSD

Employee of the Year Recognitions

Employee of the Year nominees and winners were announced and congratulated by the Board of Trustees. The district postponed recognition of its Teacher of the Year, Classified Employee of the Year, and Administrator of the Year nominees and awardees to the May Board Meeting due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Teacher of the Year

Nominees for 2019/20 Teacher of the Year were:

  • Caralyn Tiehen, Education Specialist, Arnold
  • Colleen Ferreira, Second Grade Teacher, King
  • Jessica Holinsworth, Fourth Grade Teacher, Landell
  • Molly Chang, Sixth Grade Teacher, Luther
  • Danielle Shaddow, Education Specialist, Morris
  • Jeannie Kim, Third Grade Teacher, Vessels

From the nominees, the Association of Cypress Teachers membership elected Molly Chang as the district’s Teacher of the Year. Molly was also named as one of the 15 semifinalists in the Orange County Department of Education Teachers of the Year contest.

Classified Employee of the Year

Nominees for 2019/20 Classified Employee of the Year were:

  • Betty Ann Platt, Administrative Assistant, Landell
  • Nadia Matta, Paraeducator-Instruction, King
  • Corry Smith, Paraeducator-Instruction, Landell
  • Timmi Pearson, Paraeducator-Behavior, Vessels

From the nominees, Timmi Pearson was selected as the district’s Classified Employee of the Year. She was also selected as the Orange County Department of Education finalist in the Paraeducator and Instructional Assistance category and has advanced to the statewide competition.

Administrator of the Year

Tandy Taylor, Director of Instructional Services, was selected by the Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) as the Region 17 Curriculum and Instruction Administrator of the Year. Tandy was selected to receive the state-level ACSA award as well.

Recognition of 2019/20 Retirees

The following employees who retired or announced their retirement during the 2019/20 school year were recognized for their years of service to the district:

  • Michael Perez, Lead Maintenance Worker, 26 years
  • Maxine Smiley, Student Activity Supervisor, 25 years
  • Dorothy Gotreau, Office Assistant-Elementary School, 24 years
  • Isy Smithhisler, Administrative Assistant-Elementary School, 19 years
  • Michelle Bailey, Paraeducator, 17 years
  • Audrey (Kristine) Conwell, Teacher, 16 years
  • Enrique Uvidia, Custodian, 3 years

The information above was released by Cypress School District.