featured graphic for USC Trojans football

USC beats San José State, 30-7, in season opener

Like its crosstown rival UCLA, the USC Trojans won their first game of the season, beating San José State 30-7 at Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum. The Trojans put up the first score, a field goal in 11 plays, in the first quarter and led the entire game.

San José State did not score until the third quarter, a touchdown and extra point. But by then USC had scored a touchdown with extra point and another field goal.

In the fourth quarter, the Trojans scored three more touchdowns, one resulting from an interception.

QB Kedon Slovis ended the game with 24 completions for 256 yards and 2 touchdowns.

USC football schedule

Opponent Date and Time Location W|L Score
San José State Sep 4 (Sat) 2 p.m. PT Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum W 30-7
Stanford Sep 11 (Sat) 7:30 p.m. PT

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Washington State Sep 18 (Sat) 12:30 p.m. PT Pullman, WA    
Oregon State Sep 25 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Colorado Oct 2 (Sat) TBD Boulder, CO    
Utah Oct 9 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Notre Dame Oct 23 (Sat) 4:30 p.m. PT Notre Dame, IN    
Arizona Oct 30 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Arizona State Nov 6 (Sat) TBD Tempe, AZ    
at California Nov 13 (Sat) TBD Berkeley, CA    
UCLA Nov 20 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
vs Brigham Young Nov 27 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Pac-12 Championship Dec. 3 TBD Las Vegas, NV