featured graphic for USC Trojans football

USC drops PAC-12 opener to Stanford, 28-42

The loss of the PAC-12 opener to Stanford, 28-42, leaves the USC Trojans with a win-loss record of 0-1 in conference play with an average of .500 overall.

In his first collegiate start ever, Stanford QB Tanner McKee (23 completed for 234 yards) outpassed Trojan QB Kedon Slovis (27 completed for 223 yards, with an interception).

Stanford scored first with an 87 yard run by Nathaniel Peat and successful extra point by Joshua Karty. USC evened the score in the second quarter with a two-yard run by Keaontay Ingram. Alex Stadthaus kicked the extra point. (Kicker Parker Lewis was ejected for targeting during a tackle on the opening kick-off.)

That was as close to a lead as the Trojans came for the remainder of the game, even though the team scored a field goal later in the second quarter, another in the third quarter, and two touchdowns in the fourth quarter.

All that effort took place eating the dust of Stanford, which earned 21 points by halftime, 35 points at the end of the third quarter, and ended the game with 42 points thanks to a two-yard run by Isaiah Sanders.

The Trojans next play an away game against Washington State.

USC football schedule

Opponent Date and Time Location W|L Score
San José State Sep 4 (Sat) 2 p.m. PT Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum W 30-7
Stanford Sep 11 (Sat) 7:30 p.m. PT

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum L 28-42
at Washington State Sep 18 (Sat) 12:30 p.m. PT Pullman, WA    
Oregon State Sep 25 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Colorado Oct 2 (Sat) TBD Boulder, CO    
Utah Oct 9 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Notre Dame Oct 23 (Sat) 4:30 p.m. PT Notre Dame, IN    
Arizona Oct 30 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Arizona State Nov 6 (Sat) TBD Tempe, AZ    
at California Nov 13 (Sat) TBD Berkeley, CA    
UCLA Nov 20 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
vs Brigham Young Nov 27 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Pac-12 Championship Dec. 3 TBD Las Vegas, NV