featured graphic for USC Trojans football

USC hands new head coach a victory, 45-14, against Washington State

The USC Trojans worked out any lingering upset over the firing of head coach Clay Helton and the hiring of replacement Donte Williams by pounding Washington State.

The game at first looked like Washington State would run roughshod over the Trojans, who were behind by 14 points to nothing at all until the last minute of the second quarter, when they earned a touchdown and point after.

But those 14 points were all that Washington State would put on the scoreboard. The rest of the game was all Trojans.

The third quarter saw the Trojans add 28 points and the fourth quarter another 10 points.

Trojan QB Kedon Slovis was light on stats for the high-scoring game with only 1 completed attempt for 8 yards. Slovis left the game with an injury.

Freshman USC QB Jaxon Dart completed 30 for 391 yards, 4 touchdowns, and 2 interceptions.

The Trojans next play an away game against Oregon State.

USC football schedule

Opponent Date and Time Location W|L Score
San José State Sep 4 (Sat) 2 p.m. PT Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum W 30-7
Stanford Sep 11 (Sat) 7:30 p.m. PT

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum L 28-42
at Washington State Sep 18 (Sat) 12:30 p.m. PT Pullman, WA W 45-14
Oregon State Sep 25 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Colorado Oct 2 (Sat) TBD Boulder, CO    
Utah Oct 9 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
at Notre Dame Oct 23 (Sat) 4:30 p.m. PT Notre Dame, IN    
Arizona Oct 30 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Arizona State Nov 6 (Sat) TBD Tempe, AZ    
at California Nov 13 (Sat) TBD Berkeley, CA    
UCLA Nov 20 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
vs Brigham Young Nov 27 (Sat) TBD Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum    
Pac-12 Championship Dec. 3 TBD Las Vegas, NV