featured graphic for Cypress city news

Cypress City Council reorganizes, selects new mayor for 2022

During the last regular meeting of the Cypress City Council for 2021, the Council performed its regular reorganization, selecting a new mayor and mayor pro tem for the coming year.

Outgoing mayor Jon Peat was thanked for his service over what has been a tumultuous year due to the COVID-19 pandemic, which has caused numerous struggles for cities large and small worldwide. He was presented with certificates of recognition by representatives from the offices of Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva and Senator Josh Newman.

As expected, Mayor Pro Tem Paulo Morales was voted in as the new mayor for Cypress for 2022. The position is largely ceremonial, mostly in leading the City Council meetings.

Of the three city council members eligible, Councilmember Anne Hertz was selected to be the new mayor pro tem. Councilmember Peat and Mayor Morales are termed out in 2022. Mayor Pro Tem Hertz and Councilmember Frances Marquez  were elected to their first terms last year. Councilmember Scott Minikus, the most recent addition, was appointed in August to fill the vacancy on the Council created due to the departure of then-Mayor Pro Tem Stacy Berry.

Following the selection of the new mayor and mayor pro tem, Mayor Morales confirmed the various committee appointments.

The next regular meeting of the Cypress City Council is expected be held Monday, January 10, 2022. Meeting agendas are published online ahead of any meeting and are available through the Cypress City website.