featured graphic for Cypress city news

City of Cypress formally announces 2021 reorganization

At its December 13 meeting, the Cypress City Council selected Paulo Morales as Mayor and Anne Hertz as Mayor Pro Tem for 2022. Once selected, Mayor Morales addressed the room, β€œIn the upcoming year and the years to come, let us focus on those things we can control. Our commitment and our dedication, our work ethic and character, and our continued work as a team to keep Cypress an outstanding city to live, work, and play.”

Mayor Paulo Morales is serving his second term and final year on the Cypress City Council. During his first term on the City Council, he also served as Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem. Mayor Morales is a retired Police Officer, and currently representing the City of Cypress on the League of California Cities General Assembly, West Cities Police Communications Center, Orange County City Selection Committee, and Orange County Sanitation District.

Mayor Pro Tem Anne Hertz is serving her first term on the Cypress City Council. Mayor Pro Tem Hertz currently serves as President of the Boys and Girls Club of Cypress-Anaheim. She is representing the City of Cypress on the Orange County Fire Authority committee, Orange County Library Advisory board committee, Economic Development Ad Hoc Subcommittee, City/Anaheim Union High School District Ad Hoc Subcommittee, and the City/Cypress School District Ad Hoc Subcommittee.

Additionally, the City recognized Jon Peat for his dedication and hard work as the Cypress Mayor for the year 2021. The City presented him with a plaque as well as certificates form Governor Newsom and Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva. Council Member Jon Peat is serving his second term on the Cypress City Council and will term out at the end of next year.

For more information visit www.cypressca.org.

This article was released by the City of Cypress.