La Palma City Council

With two seats in the race, La Palma has three qualified candidates for the November City Council election

La Palma Mayor Michele Steggell is termed out after two years, leaving an open seat. (She can run for Council again after being off the Council for at least four years.)

Council Member Nitesh Patel is running for re-election.

According to La Palma City Clerk Kimberly Kenney, there are three qualified candidates for those two seats:

  • Jonathan Dinwiddie – pulled papers on 7/26/2022, filed papers on 8/1/2022, email: [email protected]
  • Nitesh P. Patel – (incumbent), pulled papers on 7/27/2022, filed papers on 8/8/2022, email:
    [email protected]
  • Janet Keo Conklin – pulled papers on 8/4/2022, filed papers on 8/8/2022, email: [email protected]

La Palma will move to district-based elections by 2024. Likely that will mean that Mayor Pro Tem Debbie Baker and Councilman Mark Waldman — if they run for re-election — will participate in the first district-based election. Council Member Marshall Goodman will be termed out, having served two consecutive terms by 2024.

Orange County Breeze encourages all the candidates to submit a candidate statement for consideration for publication here at by sending the statement in pdf or Word format to [email protected]. Photos are welcome.