Unofficial results of La Palma City Council election

The results reported by the Orange County Registrar of Voters are unofficial until certified by the California Secretary of State.

That said, with 100% of 2,169 precincts reporting, the turnout was 33.6% of 1,817,149 registered voters. Altogether, 611,060 votes were cast. Of that total, the overwhelming number were vote-by-mail ballots: 452,856. That left 158,203 ballots cast at vote centers.

Although the current City Council voted to move to district-based elections, districts are not yet defined and do not feature in this year’s election. Two seats were available, so each La Palma voter could choose two from a list of three candidates:

Candidate # Votes % Vote
Nitesh Patel 2,061 45.32%
Janet K. Conklin 1,412 31.05%
Jonathan Dinwiddie 1,075 23.64%